Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

7624

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars.

So I decided to add some classics to my reading rotation this year. I didn’t want to read books that I had already read back when I was in high school so I looked at ones that I know others had to read and figured I’d start there. So far I’m not fairing so well. This was my second book in the classics category that I chose and I’m not really sure what to say about it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. It was basically just ok, which saddens me because I was really looking forward to this book. I liked the synopsis and thought it would be one I would greatly enjoy. It unfortunately fell flat for me. I found most of it very tedious ad boring and I really struggled to finish it. I get the point that the author was trying to make, I just felt like it was too wordy (especially when it came to describing the island…very long winded) and the dialog was choppy to the point that many times I had no idea what they were even talking about because all they did was talk over each other. I get that is what kids do, but it was annoying and it made it hard to follow the story.

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Lord of the Flies

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged .
