Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Mold Town by Angela Dungee-Farley

blank-133x176-8b769f39ba6687a82d2eef30bdf46977

I rated this book 2 1/2 out of 5 stars

Genre: Sci-fi/Horror

Stachy Bay, a fictional town located in Washington State, has a mold problem. Not just any mold problem either but one that seems to have a life of its own. Not initially noticed by the residents, the mold soon takes over and threatens to obliterate their usually peaceful and serene little town. It’s up to Corey, a certified mold inspector, and a handful of brave townsfolk to work together to eradicate this unwanted threat. Will they succeed or will it be too late?

I received this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway in exchange for an honest review.

Let me start of by saying that I have never read any other books by this author so I was unaware that she writes in more of a screenplay format. Not that it’s a bad thing, but if you haven’t ever read screenplays before, it can be a bit challenging to visualize the story as they tend to lack details that you usually expect in a book.

This was a very quick read. I think I finished it in under an hour. Due to the writing style, it took me a while to get comfortable with the story and the characters. I had to change my way of looking at it, so I played around with putting random actors and actresses into roles and kind of added my own flair to it. Once I did that, I was able to get a better picture of the whole thing in my mind and was able to enjoy it a bit more than I did initially. Unfortunately, when it came to the mold, it reminded me too much of The Blob from the old horror film. No matter how hard I tried, that’s all I could think of. So not only did it not scare me, but whenever the mold was mentioned, I visualized The Blob.

The ending was a bit rushed and predictable, but again, it’s more of a screenplay so in that aspect it wouldn’t be surprising since we are dealing with scenes and not chapters. Basically, as a movie it has promise and it’s definitely something I would watch. Although there would need to be some adjustments to make it not so Blob-like. As a book however, it just doesn’t work for me because I had to work at it. I had to create my own characters, my own town, etc. The point of a well written story is that it is all done for you and you get to just sit back and enjoy the ride.

So for a movie idea, I’d give it 3 to 3 1/2 stars. As a book in the style that it’s written, I’d have to drop that to about 1 1/2 to 2 stars because bringing the story to life takes more work than I would expect to have to put in. Taking both of these things into consideration, I rated this book 2 1/2 stars.

Total pages: 104, paperback

Unable to find link for purchase

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
