Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ranson Riggs

51-oEGFykcL__SX315_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars

16 year old Jacob thought his grandfather’s stories of monsters and odd photographs of children he claims he knew were nothing but tall tales. But when his grandfather dies at the hands of only something Jacob can see, he begins to wonder if the stories were more than that. The more he tries to wrap his mind around it, the more he thinks he’s going crazy. He convinces his dad to take him to a remote island off the coast of Wales to the place where his grandfather grew up. Hoping to find answers, he wanders to the other side of the island and discovers the depilated building of Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children. As he begins to explore the decaying structure, he starts to wonder if it is indeed abandoned and if, although impossible, the children are still alive.

This book is not at all what I thought it was going to be. I was under the impression that it was more of a spooky horror novel, but instead I would say it’s more in line with the fantasy/time travel genre. I admit to being a little disappointed at first, but the more I got into it, the more this book was a pleasant surprise. It’s a slow moving novel, but yet it managed to hold my interest and it did not let go. The addition of antique photos to an already well put together story made this book an excellent read and really made the whole thing come to life.

The main character, Jacob, was easily likable. At times he was whiny and somewhat of a spoiled brat, but being 16 that wasn’t much of a stretch. I found his sarcasm and snarky attitude entertaining. The cast of peculiar children were intriguing and I enjoyed learning of all their talents. They were adequately mysterious enough to give off a kind of creepy vibe but not so much that you were put off by them. I wasn’t sure what to make of Emma at first, but the more you got to know their situation, the more you understood her. The only real fault I had with the book was the ending. I won’t say what happened for those that haven’t read it yet, but I guess I expected more of a moment between Jacob and his dad. I was also disappointed that his dad never understood his own father. Perhaps that will come in future books. I hope so.

All in all if you are thinking of checking out this book because you want a good scare, you won’t find it here. If you want to read something interesting, engrossing, and like looking at old photos, put this one up.

Total pages: 352, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2016 by in Books I've read, Fiction and tagged , , , .
