Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Swimsuit Body (A Cypress Bay Mystery #2) by Eileen Goudge

514oiZgULpL__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 3 1/2 out of 5 stars.

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Tish Ballard is a property manager whose first celebrity client, actress Delilah Ward, ends up murdered and Tish herself becomes a person of interest. She’s able to clear herself but her brother Arthur isn’t so lucky. With the help of sexy detective Spence Breedlove, Tish sets out on her own investigation to clear her brother….but she might possibly be setting up her own death.

Let me start off by saying that I have not read the first book in this series. I feel it’s important to mention that so people know if they need to read the series in order or if each novel can be read as a standalone. I would definitely say you can read this one without having knowledge of the previous story. Most of the background is included, and what isn’t, doesn’t make much of an impact on the mystery itself. So with that out of the way, here is my review.

I liked it.Yay! Always a bonus when reading a new author. I found it easy to get lost in and hard to put down. The characters were fairly well developed and you were able to get a sense of the depth of their relationship to each other. I do however feel that reading the first book would give you a little more insight of course. Especially when it came to Tish and her very long distance boyfriend. He’s pretty scarce throughout the story and when he is mentioned or included, it adds nothing. Perhaps it’s because their relationship is obviously being phased out, but you don’t learn anything about him so there is almost no point to his character in this book.

I do admit not being a big fan her relationship with Spence, the detective, at first. Mostly because he is still married and has kids and seems to move in on Tish pretty fast after him and his wife separate. Luckily his reasons for doing so have nothing to do with her and as the story continues, you realize that him and Tish have a very long history. Not always a good one, but long nonetheless so I was able to get over the creepy feeling I was starting to have.

One thing about Tish that I liked was how flawed she was. Her being a recovering alcoholic and making some very embarrassing, not to mention very public, choices in her past makes her character seem more real. She was easy to like and relatable. The side characters of her best friend Ivy, and former cop, McGee, made a nice addition to this story, as does her brother, Arthur. And of course we cannot forget her protectors! Her cat Hercules and newly adopted dog Prince. I enjoyed their shining moments in the story and initial interaction with each other.

As far as the mystery, it was intriguing and well written. There were enough potential suspects to keep you guessing and I can honestly say I didn’t even come close to guessing who it was. The ending wrapped up nicely, although a little too predictable, but I still enjoyed it. I would definitely read more from this author.

Total pages: 250, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Swimsuit Body (A Cypress Bay Mystery #2)

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2016 by in Books I've read, Cozy Mystery and tagged , .
