Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Story of a Secret Heart by Cassi Ellen

51VBPXQH3VL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars.

This book follows the life and times of Cassi, a 30 year old single woman who deals with a painful breakup and re-enters the dating world.

Chick-lit is not my favorite genre but I have had some mild success with it lately so I decided to give this book a whirl. First off, I couldn’t really relate to Cassi in almost any way. As a matter of fact, I initially found her to be completely unlikable. Her constant pining and crying over a man who was so obviously a loser was annoying, but of course that’s easy for me to say since it wasn’t my relationship. Even with that though, I really had a hard time putting this book down. I couldn’t stop reading because I needed to know what would transpire next, what stupid thing would she do now, how did she plan on getting out of that situation. It was like watching a train wreck. You know you should look away, but you can’t. Gradually though I did begin to not dislike Cassi so much, maybe even began to like her a little, and ended up enjoying the story more than I thought I would.

It’s written in almost a blog/diary like format and there were times when things repeated themselves, but it was well written and straight forward. It was serious but also funny with some really unbelievable moments. I found it engrossing and there were plenty of times where I either shook my head at how naïve she was or laughed out loud at her antics. The men she chooses to associate with really leave a lot to be desired, but without them her journey wouldn’t be as entertaining to read as it was.

Total pages: 174, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Story of a Secret Heart

 

3 comments on “Story of a Secret Heart by Cassi Ellen

  1. cassiellensecretstory
    July 14, 2016

    Not sure I will ever get used to reading reviews! I think I stop breathing!
    Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review the book, I really do appreciate it. I love the honestly of the review 🙂 so thank you very much.

    When I read it back I am annoyed at Cassi too! LOL

    Did you leave a review on Amazon?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Charlee
      July 14, 2016

      Lol! It really was a good book. 🙂
      I have not left a review on Amazon yet. I usually do that. I will put it up today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • cassiellensecretstory
        July 14, 2016

        Thank you so much :). I only asked as someone called ‘charl’ left a review on the UK site but it didn’t match yours so I was abit confused. Thanks again for the review. Keep up the good work :).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , .
