Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Salvation Lake (Leo Waterman #9) by G.M. Ford

5168BYnbhwL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway in exchange for an honest review.

Leo Waterman, retired private eye, can’t leave well enough alone. His corrupt father, now deceased, had one of the ugliest coats in existence. When it’s found covering two dead bodies that were found in the truck of a car, he decides he needs to investigate. Tracking the victims final days, the case takes him on a twisted ride that could end up being his last.

First off, let me state that this is the first book I have read in this series. I was happy to discover that it can be read as a standalone so you do not have to read the others to enjoy this tale. However, I wouldn’t let that stop you from rushing out and getting the entire series. The story takes place in Seattle, which being a Washingtonian I love. Granted I live on the other side of the state, but still….It follows Leo Waterman, a PI who is living off a trust fund that was left to him by a father that gained his fortune by less than reputable means. If you are looking for a cozy mystery, you will have to look elsewhere. This story is hard boiled and action packed with characters that seem to step right out of the pages of a 1950’s detective novel. Leo is perfect as the wise-cracking PI who just can’t seem to keep his nose out of police business even though he tells himself he won’t get involved. Running full steam ahead, he has virtually no regards for his own personal safety…or control of his sarcastic tongue. Quite the page turner, I became immersed in the story from the very beginning and there were enough twists and turns to keep me interested. The addition of a church with a cult like attitude really made for an intense read and I found myself having a hard time putting it down. I loved how there were multiple mysteries that all seem to be intertwined into one, making the story about more than just a murder. It was a quick, fun, and gripping read. I definitely would recommend it.

Total pages: 226, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Salvation Lake (Leo Waterman #9)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , .
