Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Scariest Stories Ever Told by Roberta Simpson Brown

410lI6xHHVL__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars

I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is a collection of 33 haunting tales for kids ages 9-12.

First off, let me just say that these did not scare me. Of course being an adult, I’m not the target audience so that’s not surprising. The question is, will they scare kids? Honestly, in some cases I’d say yes. In others, maybe not. I definitely think these are perfect for reading around the campfire or at Halloween and would be best read to or by children around the 8-10 years old range. I think once you get closer to 12, most wouldn’t find them nearly as frightening.

Not just your typical ghost stories, some of these tales feed off your fears, involve paranormal elements, and can be just bizarre in general. Some are dark and others are more light-hearted. Even though I wasn’t trembling with fear, I did enjoy these tales. It was nice to be taken back. They reminded me of some of the scary stories that I heard as a child and eventually led me to my love of horror novels. The lack of anything really gory makes this book perfect for kids who want to read scary tales but don’t want to be grossed out….or worse, traumatized. The writing style is easy and simple to comprehend. Each story seemed to include an individual around the target audiences age which would  make them more relatable and possibly more frightening. I definitely recommend this book for young readers who like all things scary.

Total pages: 260, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Scariest Stories Ever Told

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2016 by in Books I've read, Childrens Book and tagged , , , , , , .
