Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Dying to Get Published (Jennifer Marsh #1) by Judy Fitzwater

41Dnz98W+TL

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars

Jennifer Marsh wants to get published. Unfortunately with a stack of 8 novels in her closet, she still hasn’t. She decides what she needs is to act out an actual murder. She picks out someone she feels the world would do best without. She then puts her plan into action. She makes sure to frame herself but also sets up an ironclad alibi that can’t be refuted. That way, when they are forced to drop the charges, she’ll become famous and publishers will be dying to get a hold of her books. No matter that she chickens out and can’t bring herself to kill anyone. She can follow all the steps leading up to it. Only problem is, someone kills her victim…for real. And now Jennifer is the main suspect.

What can I say about this book? It’s not the worst I’ve ever read. Of course that also means it’s not the best either. Quite simply, it just was. The plot sounded interesting, which is what caused me to grab it in the first place. But it fell flat.

Let’s start with the bad. I mentioned the plot. It had the potential to make for a great story. The problem was the execution. It started out ok. Albeit not exactly believable. In all honesty, I have a hard time with the idea that anyone would go to the lengths Jennifer did just to get a book published without at least taking into consideration the feelings of others. But I could have looked passed that if it weren’t for the way she used each and every person around her to achieve her goal. That’s pretty much what turned me off and one of the reasons I found the main character to be unlikeable. It was also annoying and kind of creepy how she kept rubbing her stomach and talking to this future child she planned on having one day. As far as the other characters, they were pretty bland and one dimensional. The love interest, Sam, was kind of a jerk initially and didn’t become anymore endearing after that. But I guess the thing that really did it for me was the way everyone just accepted her reasons for doing what she did without being upset at how she lied and used them. I just couldn’t accept that.

As far as the good, I will say it did have its moments. It is quirky, which I like. There were attempts at humor that I could appreciate and I did find myself chuckling here and there. When she was putting the plot together in her head and was getting advice from her writers group, I found their dynamic interesting and their banter entertaining. Also, the writing style wasn’t bad and the book was a quick and easy read, which at the time, I was looking for.

All in all, if you like cozy mysteries that are a little on the quirky side with a main character who is a tad selfish and a bit dense, you may like this book. Just don’t go into it expecting too much.

Total pages: 174, Nook version

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Dying to Get Published (Jennifer Marsh #1)

Available for Nook at the link below:

Dying to Get Published (Jennifer Marsh #1)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
