Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

While My Pretty One Knits (Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries #1) by Anne Canadeo

515mpQIngJL__SX308_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars

Maggie Messina is the owner of the Black Sheep Knitting Shop in the small town of Plum Harbor, Massachusetts. Every week, her and the Black Sheep Knitters meet up and discuss their lives while working on their latest creations. Amanda Goran also owns a knitting shop, the Knitting Nest, in the same town and is full of jealousy as she watches Maggie’s shop surpass hers in popularity. When a former student of Maggie’s hosts a workshop at the Black Sheep, no one suspects that the biggest highlight will be murder.

Even though I am not a knitter, I do tend to like the knitting cozies for some reason. As far as cozy mysteries go, this one was pretty standard and left me feeling a little empty. First off, I was able to figure out who the killer was immediately. And by immediately, I mean the minute the character was introduced, not only did I know it was them, but I knew why they did it. It was just too obvious. The other thing about it is that although the characters were fairly well developed, I never felt like I knew them or got a real sense of who they were.

When it came to the writing, it was decent but did have a few editing errors. I only add that for other people. Unless it hinders comprehension, editing errors don’t really bother me. I’m more interested in the flow of the story and this one just didn’t have it. It was a bit choppy and seemed to bounce from day to day rather abruptly. I also didn’t feel like I was reading a mystery. There wasn’t any real sleuthing or investigating that went on. It was mostly Lucy, Maggie’s best friend, thinking of theories and then everything just fell into place. And that was another thing I found odd. Even though you would think Maggie would be the main character, she isn’t. It’s actually Lucy who is the focus. As far as her character goes, I didn’t dislike her, but I did find her constant whining about being alone very annoying.

Still, I think there is real potential with this series. I’m considering reading the next installment to see if there is any improvement.

Total pages: 249, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

While My Pretty One Knits

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , .
