Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #1) by Iain Reading

51Fyt2TXwRL

I rated this book 2 1/2 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway in exchange for an honest review.

Kitty Hawk is going on an adventure. Wanting to study the humpback whales, she raises money to fly from her home in Canada and sets out to Alaska in her De Havilland Bearer seaplane. Along the way she stumbles upon a gang of gold thieves who take her hostage. And that’s where her real adventure begins….

Having never read an adventure themed book before I wasn’t sure what to expect. So many others said it reminded them of the old Nancy Drew series that naturally I had to check it out. Unfortunately I did not get that connection at all. I don’t want to say it was a bad book because it really wasn’t. I guess it’s just not my type of book.

The main character, Kitty Hawk, is an independent teen and a likeable enough character. She seems very level headed and mature for her age while still holding onto some of those childlike qualities that remind you she is still very young. I enjoyed the host of other characters as well as the maps, aerial shots, and handwritten notes that were sprinkled in. It gave a real feel to the story. You almost envision that Kitty Hawk exists and you are reading her memoirs. The story was very well written, researched, and thought out. There is so much history on the gold rush, knowledge about whales, not to mention the information on aviation. The author obviously did their homework. It’s also pretty overwhelming to say the least. Unfortunately it isn’t my thing and I actually stopped and started it several times. I found it to be a bit tedious and just couldn’t get into it. I hate to rate it down because with the right target audience, this is easily a 4 or 5 star book. For me though it leans more towards 2 1/2.

Total pages: 262, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , .
