Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

A Time To Speak: An Altar Boy’s Dark Secret Finally Comes To Light by Timothy Becker & Christine Roundy

51b6fYXK4EL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

No rating

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

A true account as stated by Timothy Becker, a devoted altar boy, who was dedicated to the Catholic faith and dreamed of becoming a priest. That is until newly ordained priest, Father Ben, sexually assaults him. This goes on for almost a year and he tells no one. Until now……

How does one rate a book such as this? Do you rate based on how well it was written? Whether the story had a nice flow? Or do you focus just on the content? That’s the dilemma I had after finishing this story. I came to the conclusion that I can’t really rate this book a standard 1-5 stars because it’s not a fictional story. It’s not a book where you focus on character development, plot, and if the ending tied all the loose ends up nicely. So I’m left with whether or not I think people should read it. My first response would be no. Why? Because it’s uncomfortable. It’s graphic. It’s horrific. It’s not a story that promises a happy ending. My other response would be yes. Why? Because of all the things I just listed. These things actually happened. They are real. And we shouldn’t pretend they didn’t or turn away because it isn’t pretty. So I can’t rate this book. It would feel wrong. I can’t give you information about the content and what the victim says or how their story is told because it’s just one of those you have to read for yourself. All I can do is tell you that if you can handle a book about sexual abuse and the graphic nature of events as told by the victim, then read it. If not, don’t.

Total pages: 151, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

A Time To Speak

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , .
