Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

51iwct1btgl__sx329_bo1204203200_

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

When the Moon Was Ours follows two characters through a story that has multicultural elements and magical realism, but also has central LGBT themes. A transgender boy, the best friend he’s falling in love with, and both of them deciding how they want to define themselves.

Let me start off by saying that I absolutely love the cover, unfortunately I had to mark it as DNF at 38%. *sigh*

I really wanted to like this book and was excited that I won a copy. I’m disappointed because the synopsis sounded wonderful and I was so looking forward to reading it. Sadly I found myself starting and stopping it several times until finally I just put it down for good because the flowery language was just too much for me. Maybe some may appreciate it, but for me, it was so poetically written that I feel the story got lost and made it hard to understand what was going on at times. Sam and Miel are such magnificent characters and I would have liked to continue reading about their journey, both together and separately, but I found the language so distracting that I couldn’t get into it or connect with the story at all. It’s too bad because there is a real message about acceptance in there…..if you can just get past the pretty writing. I did skim the rest of the book to get an idea of how it ends, which is why I rated it. I doubt I will try reading it again in the future. Perhaps magical realism just isn’t my thing.

Total pages: 273, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

When the Moon Was Ours

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , , .
