Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Frankly My Dear, I’m Dead by Livia J Washburn

515qvagjvpl__sx298_bo1204203200_

I rated this book 1 out of 5 stars

Delilah Dickinson has started her own business after going through a nasty divorce. A literary travel agency, she books her first tour. The group heads to a plantation that is modeled after Tara from Gone With the Wind. Unfortunately they all get more than they bargained for when the actor who plays Rhett Butler is found dead with a knife in his chest and the #1 suspect is Delilah’s son-in-law, Luke.

I’m not sure what it is about this author, but she creates some of the most unlikable main characters. At least to me. I wish I could say that this book was the exception, but I can’t. To sum them up, it was basically the cast of Reba….but without being fun or entertaining. Delilah Dickinson, a fiery redhead, was so over the top southern that it made me cringe and her son-in-law, Luke, is apparently one of the dumbest people to ever live. Oh, and he works for her. So does her daughter Melissa apparently, but quite honestly, I kept forgetting about her. Her teenage nieces are with her during this tour too and they fight a lot because they’re polar opposites (that’s basically the reason they give you), but I can’t remember why they are there and not with their mother. Other than that, there isn’t much else to say about any of them because they were all pretty one dimensional and forgettable.

The murder itself was pretty blah and not very interesting. I kept getting bored, which is what took me so long to finish it. The book itself isn’t that long, but I had such a hard time getting into it that I kept putting it down and reading other things. Once I got about halfway through, I realized that I didn’t even care who the killer was and almost just stopped it completely, but I’m a glutton for punishment. Once they did the big reveal, it wasn’t all that shocking and quite frankly, still not interesting. This will be the last book I read from this author.

Total pages: 213, hardcover

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Frankly My Dear, I’m Dead

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , .
