Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson

51ohqyodthl__sx331_bo1204203200_

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Kate Priddy is haunted by nightmares. Real ones. When her cousin from America suggests trading apartments for 6 months, her to Boston and him to London, she initially declines. Realizing though that it could help in overcoming her past, she changes her mind and sends him an email accepting before she can change her mind. She has barely a moment to adjust to her new surroundings when it’s discovered that a woman has been murdered in the apartment across the hall from her and her cousin looks like a good suspect. Is she really overcoming her nightmare or walking right into another one?

A psychological thriller, this book was quite the page turner. Kate, the main character, is seriously damaged but yet very likable. You really feel her struggle. She so desperately wants to feel normal even though she knows she never will be. Not completely anyway. There is an innocence to her even given her traumatic past that makes you want to protect her. She’s understandably leery of everyone she meets and is totally riddled with anxiety, always thinking the worst is about to happen. The author captured her mental state perfectly. When it came to some of the other characters, I have to say, I enjoyed the addition of the wandering Sanders. It gave an interesting element to the story that I wouldn’t have seen coming. I still don’t know what to make of Alan however. Even though you learn quite a bit about him, it’s not enough to determine just what kind of person he truly is. He’s an enigma to me. Corbin, Kate’s cousin, is definitely the character I had the hardest time with though. I would go back and forth between feeling bad for him and hoping he could get his life back to feeling he deserved whatever happened to him for his part in everything. If the author meant for us to feel conflicted, then it worked because I certainly did. I didn’t feel such conflicts with Henry. But then I don’t suppose you were supposed to.

The story itself was very well written and descriptive enough without being overwhelmingly so. I would not call this a fast paced thriller. It’s more of a slow burn but it gives you just enough to keep you interested and invested. Dangling a sufficient amount of information in front of you to make you think you’ve mostly figured it out, only to realize that you aren’t even sure if anyone is who they say they are. You find yourself questioning everyone and their intent…much like Kate. Are they portraying themselves accurately or just wearing masks, hiding their true selves? The only character I didn’t completely feel that way with was Kate. However, I did start to question how much of this could have just been in her head. Not all of it naturally. There were too many things that pointed to most of it being real, but I did start to wonder to what degree was it though. And how much could just be coming from the mind of a troubled woman who had suffered terribly at the hand of another? A broken mind. I guess that’s the main reason why I enjoyed this book. I really didn’t know. Anything was possible. I was neither surprised nor disappointed by the ending because of this. I would definitely put this book on my recommend list.

Total pages: 329, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Her Every Fear

Also available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Her Every Fear

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
