Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

The Walking Dead: The Whisperer War Parts 1-3, Issues 157-159 by Robert Kirkman

part1      part2     part3

 

 

 

 

I rated all these issues 4 out of 5 stars

These are the first three issues in a six part series. I read these three in one day and rather than review them one by one, I decided to just do one review for all of them.

I would say that the main focus in these issues character wise is Negan and he is one that continues to intrigue me the farther we get into the series. I initially couldn’t stand him when he made his appearance, but he has grown on me. He has to be, hands down, the most entertaining “bad guy” The Walking Dead has ever seen. You love to hate him and hate to love him. At the moment, he seems to be someone Rick can trust, but at the same time he’s Negan, so……

The war with the Whisperers begins! The ingenious idea of wearing skins masks and hiding among the dead keeps the Whisperers one step ahead of Ricks group. That does not mean they are without causalities however. Unfortunately neither is Ricks group and a key member is lost during this initial battle. Well, two members actually depending on how you look at it. The first death is gruesome and surprisingly sad. I say surprisingly because this individual wasn’t someone I cared for, but over the last few issues especially, they have redeemed themselves in my eyes and it was sad to see them go. As far as the other, well it wasn’t without heartbreak either, but in a completely different way. I won’t give any more details on that as I don’t want to give it away for anyone who hasn’t read it yet.

The story was gripping and action packed. The illustrations were, as always, wonderful and captured things perfectly. Each issue kept me on the edge of my seat and left me needing to know what happened next. I can’t wait for issue #160 to come out as the war rages on and Negan’s trustworthiness is continually in question.

Total pages: Issue 157 – 32 pages, Kindle edition

Total pages: Issue 158 – 30 pages, Kindle edition

Total pages: Issue 159 – 31 pages, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the links below:

The Walking Dead, Issue 157

The Walking Dead, Issue 158

The Walking Dead, Issue 159

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , , .