Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Pushing Up Daisies (Agatha Raisin Mystery #27) by M.C. Beaton

518ibp6hm6l__sx331_bo1204203200_

I rated this book a reluctant 3 out of 5 stars

Lord Bellington is a wealthy land developer that has the villagers of the British Cotswolts in a tizzy. Wanting to turn the community gardens into a housing estate, Agatha goes to him and tries to persuade him to abandon his plans, all to no avail. When Agatha sees his obituary in the paper two weeks later, she’s not shocked to learn that the town is far from heartbroken at his passing. She’s even less shocked to hear he was murdered. With a list of suspects a mile long, Agatha and her team are hired to find the killer. Could it be one of the many villagers who hated the man….or is the killer closer to home?

Who do I love? Agatha Raisin! What do I want? Agatha and Charles to end up together! Ok. Ok. I know. It’s a mystery series, not a romance, but hey, doesn’t mean I can’t hope for it. Besides, a bit of romance in a mystery book is not always a bad thing. And I just love them together. Anyway, with that said…..I am a diehard fan of this series. I have read every book so far and have no intention of stopping until the author does. Unfortunately that does not mean that I loved this latest installment….because I didn’t. *sigh*

I’m not sure what happened with this one but I was quite disappointed. The writing was choppy and the story kept jumping around so much that I kept losing track of what was going on. People were mentioned and then discarded. Storylines appeared and then disappeared. Backstories were created and then forgotten. There were new characters introduced that didn’t get fully developed and served no real purpose and the mystery was really easy to figure out. This was not a typical Agatha Raisin book. It seemed rushed and just thrown together without thought, as if it was just put out to meet a deadline. There didn’t seem to be the same level of heart in it as before. It felt as if the author didn’t care. Agatha seemed tired and without fight. Mrs. Bloxby barely even made an appearance. Even Charles wasn’t as entertaining and engaging as he usually is. The only reason I even gave it three stars is because it’s one of my most favorite series and I always look forward to the next installment. I’m still excited for whatever comes next, but this story was a bit of a letdown.

Total pages: 280, hardback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Pushing Up Daisies

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Pushing Up Daisies

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , .
