Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

The Lion in the Living Room by Abigail Tucker

413h9tbkcel__sx329_bo1204203200_

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

This seems to be a very well researched book about the domestication of cats and their impact on society and the environment. I say “seems” because I can’t attest to the accuracy of everything stated and have seen some other reviewers correct the author on some points, mostly breeders, of which I am not.

Anyway, I admit that when I entered the giveaway, I thought this book was going to be more whimsical in nature. A fun, lighthearted read about cats. Unfortunately for me, it isn’t, so I was a tad disappointed. However I did learn a few things and with the exception of a couple tedious chapters that I admittedly skimmed through, it wasn’t too bad. I know! What a glowing review, right? Well to be honest, I had a hard time really diving into it as there was a bit of a negative undertone that was hard for me to shake. I felt like there was a lot of information and the author really did her homework so I don’t want to say the book was bad because it wasn’t…..but it just wasn’t what I was expecting and I don’t think I’m the target audience for it. I don’t know if I would recommend this for all cat lovers as some may take offense to the “tone” in which some things are stated.

If you are looking for a detailed history and evolving of the feline species, you would most likely appreciate this book and enjoy it. If you are looking for a lighthearted read about cat facts, this book will probably be a disappointment.

Total pages: 256, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

The Lion in the Living Room

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

The Lion in the Living Room

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
