Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Freaks I’ve Met by Donald Jans

51sguejv9nl__sx331_bo1204203200_

I rated this book 2 1/2 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Jack Fitzpatrick decides that after graduating from college, he is going to leave his hometown for a much bigger and more competitive city, where he just knows he’ll become successful and make a lot of money. This is his coming of age tale and how things don’t always work out the way you expect them to….and that’s not always a bad thing.

I was SOOOOO excited to win this book. I had entered giveaways for it numerous times trying to snag a copy. Not only were the reviews fantastic, but I live in Spokane after having moved here from California (close to LA) with my family. I figured it would be hilarious! I mean he’s leaving a small town (well, to be fair, Spokane isn’t actually a small town at all……but when compared to LA? Yea), the only place he’s ever known, and heading to LA where he thinks he’s going to “make it big.” How could that not be funny? Well, surprisingly for me, it wasn’t. Oh don’t get me wrong, it definitely had its moments and isn’t a bad book, but it was hardly the laugh out loud story I thought it was going to be. Maybe my expectations were just too high or maybe it’s because there really aren’t any “freaks” in this story, but it took me forever to get through this book. Jack, the protagonist, was more annoying than anything. I didn’t find him even remotely likeable so when various scenarios would come up where you should want to feel for him, I couldn’t. The only part where he didn’t come off like a jerk was the end, which I liked. The author definitely did the “full circle” part well. I don’t have to like the main character to enjoy a book, but in this case, it seemed like it would have helped.

It is a dark comedy, which are usually my favorite, but more on the crude side. I’m thinking I am just not the target audience for it. If you are a recent college graduate or someone who has done the whole small town to big city thing, then I think you would enjoy this book and really get a good laugh out of it.

Total pages: 208, Hardback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Freaks I’ve Met

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Freaks I’ve Met

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , .
