Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland by Rebekah Crane

51lssk2fthl__sx332_bo1204203200_

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Zander Osborne is 16 years old and is spending her summer at a camp for at-risk teens. She quickly decides that her fellow campers are crazy and she doesn’t fit in….something that is echoed by one of her cabin mates, Cassie. As times goes on however, Zander learns that not only does she fit in, but none of them are crazy….just broken…and sometimes it’s ok to not be ok.

This was an interesting book. Obviously a YA, I don’t think I totally understood the premise of it until I actually sat down to read it. The story was well written and the characters were complex and well developed. Or at least as developed as they can be given each of their circumstances. It was interesting to see how they initially appeared so different, but as the story continued, you realized they weren’t and were all just looking for the same thing in the end. The gradual process of them discovering that there was more to them that they initially thought gave you hope that they’d be able to deal with their problems and move forward in life. It also gave you some happy moments which seemed pretty rare for a lot of them. There were a few laugh out loud moments as well as tear jerkers. And naturally, there was a camp romance. I honestly don’t quite know how I feel about that. It isn’t shocking but I was a bit put off by it. Initially it was more of a background story, which I was fine with, but then it moved to the forefront and I guess it did bother me a bit at first. I felt like with all the trauma and issues these kids were dealing with, a romance would be the furthest thing from their minds….and I guess in a sense it was. However, even with that said, I do get the purpose of it in relation to our protagonist, Zander, and how significant it was to her progress. The ending was a bit on the predictable side, but not enough to disappoint. Overall I enjoyed the story and could definitely see it being relatable to teens.

Total pages: 264, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland

Also available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2016 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , .
