Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Southern Spirits (Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery #1) by Angie Fox

5186uwh9vol

I rated this book 3 1/2 out of 5 stars.

Verity Long has had it rough as of late. She left her fiancé after discovering he cheated on her. His family, blaming her for the break-up, is making her pay for the wedding that didn’t happen. And now she may lose her family home because of it! One evening, while cleaning out an ugly vase that belonged to her ex, she accidentally dumps the ashes of a long-dead gangster into her rose garden, making his spirit stuck with her until she can find a way to release him. When Frankie opens her up to the spirit world, an opportunity to make enough money to save her house comes knocking. Unfortunately the opportunity comes in the form of her ex-fiancés brother, Ellis. Determined to save her home, she takes the job and discovers that Ellis is nothing like his family. When someone tries to kill her during her investigation into his property and the spirits that reside there, Verity realizes it may not be just her house she needs to save. It may be her life as well.

Angie Fox is one of my top authors, so when Southern Spirits came out, I immediately added it to my ‘to read’ list. As a bonus, I managed to snag it for free on my Kindle! As an additional bonus, I love the cover! I wouldn’t have been able to pass it up just for that alone. I do admit however, that when I first sat down and started reading it, I found it rushed and a bit silly. I feared that this may be the first book of hers that I didn’t care for and was starting to feel disappointed. That feeling dissipated though as I continued to read. The more I kept going, the more I enjoyed it. I absolutely loved Verity! She’s a great character full of spunk and silliness…..but not so much that she comes off as a total ditz. I especially love that she has a pet skunk named Lucy. For some reason, it suits her character. And I don’t mean that in a stinky way. The mystery itself is a bit predictable and the romance expected, but it didn’t take away from the story for me. The characters are fully developed and the book is well written. It’s a perfect fun, light-hearted read for a lazy day. I can’t wait to read the next installment in this series.

Total pages: 270, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Southern Spirits

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Southern Spirits

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , .
