Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Kernel of Truth (A Popcorn Shop Mystery #1) by Kristi Abbott

61temdzggjl

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars

After a failed marriage, Rebecca Anderson comes back to Grand Lake, Ohio and opens a gourmet popcorn shop she appropriately names POPS. With the help of a grandmotherly figure, Coco, who owns the chocolate shop next door, Rebecca becomes more responsible and less of the trouble maker that the towns still sees her as. She and Coco are even working on a business idea together that will combine their stores. But when Coco is found dead in what appears to be a robbery gone wrong, something doesn’t seem right and Rebecca can’t let it go. With her loyal canine Sprocket at her side, Rebecca starts digging into who would want Coco dead….and makes herself a potential target in the process.

Popcorn, poodles, and murder!! You won’t believe this, but I got this book for 25 cents at a library book sale! Seriously! Score! *fist pump* And best part? I loved it!! The theme was great! The characters were great! The cover was great! The story was great! Ok. I admit it was really easy to figure out who the murderer was. I mean, after all, you might as well had them walk around with a big flashing sign that said, “I killed Coco,” but honestly, that’s ok….because aside from the killer being obvious, this was just a really fun cozy. Rebecca is a very likable, albeit bumbling, character who is having a hard time getting the town to see her as anything other than the trouble making teen she was before she left. It certainly doesn’t help that her nemesis and town golden child, Jessica, is always there to make sure everyone knows about her missteps. The fact that the residents revered Jessica so much was a little off-putting for me, but then it’s a small town and they are in a category all their own so I ignored that little nagging part of me that didn’t understand it. I do have to note that one thing I absolutely loved, loved, loved was the addition of Rebecca’s poodle, Sprocket! Any time an animal is in a cozy, it’s a good thing. At least that’s how I feel. And the fact that he is a thief is perfect! Why do I say that? Because it’s such a dog thing. It added to the believability of the story. Even though, as mentioned, I easily figured out who the killer was, the side stories and characters kept me engaged. I had a hard time putting the book down. I  needed to see how it would all unfold.

If I do have one thing I really disliked about this story, it would be Antoine. Yes, he’s the super hot, super successful chef and ex-husband that did Rebecca wrong…but I really didn’t understand his role in the book other than to possibly annoy the reader. Which he did. At least this one. I had a hard time understanding why Rebecca put up with his creepy, stalker-like presence. She could have at least changed her phone number. But that’s it! Honestly. Aside from him, I enjoyed the story and all the characters and definitely plan on reading the next installment in this series.

Total pages: 296, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Kernel of Truth

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Kernel of Truth

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , , .
