Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Scooby Apocalypse, Volume 1 by Keith Giffen

61JZUyRTfvL__SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

The gang is all here! Fred. Daphne. Velma. Shaggy. And of course, Scooby Doo! But this isn’t the same gang you grew up with. Daphne is an investigative reporter, who along with her faithful cameraman, Fred, ends up involved in a top secret experiment involving nanites that Velma’s lab was working on. Along with Shaggy, the dog trainer, and Scooby Doo, the cyber dog, they run for their lives as the nanites are released and humans are turned into monsters.

I loved Scooby Doo growing up. As a matter of fact, I own the Scooby Doo, Where Are You? complete season on DVD and watch it whenever I’m sick. When I saw someone was doing a modern day take on it, I was horrified. I mean, why?!!? It’s perfect the way it is! Not being a fan of reboots, rewrites, revamps, or any of that, I gave the giveaway some major side eye and moved on. After a few minutes, I decided to give it another look, only to harrumph and scroll past again. The third time, I entered, but did so defiantly! Then I won. And guess what? I really enjoyed it. Who knew?

The characters aren’t really much different personality wise, which I am thankful for. They were easy recognizable and it gave the book a nice nostalgic feel. The story was pretty typical, which isn’t a bad thing. It totally aligned with what one would expect from Scooby Doo….and the artwork! Oh my! That was absolutely fantastic! The only thing I didn’t care for was the repetitive dialogue when it came to Velma and Daphne. The continual blaming, even though warranted, got stale after a while.

All in all though, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it and how well the story was written. Yes, there are changes to the characters to give them a more modern spin, but at their core, they are the same gang we all loved riding along with in the Mystery Machine. And wait until you see that…….

Total pages: 200, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Scooby Apocalypse

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Scooby Apocalypse

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , , .
