Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Just Desserts (A Savannah Reid Mystery #1) by G. A. McKevett

51XlahAIW-L

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars

Detective Savannah Reid and her partner, Dirk, are just celebrating catching a fugitive when a shocking murder rocks the San Carmelita, CA area. Put on the case solo, Savannah finds herself immersed in a sensationalized case that causes a media frenzy. Will she be able to mark this case solved or will she be sent packing before the killer can be caught?

Ok. I admit it. After about page 188, I pretty much skimmed this book more than I actually read it. I couldn’t help it. Everything from the dirty cops to the fact that I was looking for a cozy and this was so not it, annoyed me. Even the main character, who is the most likable in the book, got on my nerves. She’s supposed to be tough and sarcastic. At least that’s what I think the author was going for. I didn’t find her to be either one really. Then there was the sister, Atlanta. Ugh. Luckily by the time her entrance took place I was already skimming pages so skipping over her parts (a must if you opt to read this) was easy. The mystery was bland. The writing style was ok. And the rest of the characters ranged from forgettable to “I’d love to punch them in the face” annoying. When it got to the “too fat” part of the story, I just about gave up completely. I don’t really know why I even continued to skim at that point since I really didn’t even care who the killer was. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because I liked the cover. I would hope future novels in this series (I hear there’s 22 of them) are better than this one, but I won’t be bothering.

Total pages: 320, paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Just Desserts

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Just Desserts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
