Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Pastrami Murder (Darling Deli #1) by Patti Benning

51sLBE+JXwL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars

Moira Darling runs a successful deli in the quiet and peaceful town of Maple Creek. But things don’t stay that way when her rival is found dead and it turns out he was poisoned by one of her soups. Moira knows she didn’t do it….but will the town agree?

Ok. So another short story in my attempt to clean up my tablet. I got this one free on Kindle a few months ago. It’s well written and fast paced but also manages to give more detail than some other short stories I’ve read. The mystery wasn’t terribly difficult to figure out but it was still intriguing and managed to keep my attention. My only real complaint is when it comes to the main character. Although not completely unlikable, Moira has a subtle self-righteousness that flows just right below the surface. There’s something so uppity about her. It was a real turn-off. She also didn’t do any real investigating. Cozies generally have amateur sleuths trying to solve the case to prove their innocence. That wasn’t the case with this book. Aside from that, it was still a pretty decent story and I did enjoy it but I’m not sure I’ll continue with the series.

Total pages: 73, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Pastrami Murder

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Pastrami Murder

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
