Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Murder for Two (Cozy Café Mystery #3) by Margaret Bower

51s+YeOS5gL

I rated this story 2 1/2 out of 5 stars

Maggie gets tricked into a romantic dinner but the evening doesn’t go as planned. When two bodies turn up during what she thought was a singles event on Valentines Day, she takes it upon herself to find out who the killer is.

I seriously am starting to think that short stories are just not my thing. Even in the cozy mystery category. First off, it was stated that this could be read as a stand-alone, but I felt like I got dropped off in the middle of town and was supposed to know who everyone was and their connections to each other. There was no backstory. I also wish I had read the synopsis before I downloaded this particular little tale. I don’t mind some romance in a murder mystery, most of them have it, but tricking your friend into going on a romantic dinner when they didn’t’ want to because you know what’s best for them? I’m out. Maggie didn’t seem to mind….but I did. I can’t help it. I find stuff like that extremely irritating.

Anyway, it’s a real bummer because the story itself was pretty well written and the plot, minus the sneaky matchmaking part, was interesting. Unfortunately I doubt I will seek out others in this series.

Total pages: 73, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Murder for Two

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
