Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Irish Crème Killer (INNcredibly Sweet Series #1) by Summer Prescott

51zK7inISDL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this story 1 1/2 stars out of 5

Missy and her husband are in need of a vacation. Owning an Inn, running a sweets shop, and, oh yea, her husband is also a detective, they desperately want some time away. With their close friends in tow, they head to upstate New York for some lush living and race car driving. But relaxing won’t be the only thing on the agenda.

I really, really wanted to like this book. It’s got a cute name, a sweet cover, and sounded like a fun read. Problem is, the only part of this story that is truly developed are the characters financial statuses. Let me explain. They’re rich. Like, really rich. And you get reminded of this in almost every paragraph. I mean, there’s even a character named Muffy! I’m not kidding. Of course they do try to convince you just how humble they actually are. Warning: constant eye rolling can cause headaches. Oh wait!! I forgot! There is one character who wasn’t rolling in dough. Spencer. Who by the way is a marine. You’ll know this by the amount of times they refer to him as that rather than by his name.

The other problem is the name of the book. One of the main characters owns a bakery and made some Irish crème cupcakes. She and her husband also own an Inn. Neither of these places are the setting however, and other than mentioning the cupcakes at the very beginning of the story, you never hear about them again. Odd.

As far as the mystery, I finished the story (only because it’s short) and pretty much already forgot who was killed and who the killer was. The victim was barely introduced before he was gone and the killer, well, I still can’t remember who he was. Luckily I got this little tale for free so at least I didn’t waste money on it. I added a half star to my rating just because I liked the cover. I seriously doubt I will read any other books from this author.

Total pages: 96, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Irish Creme Killer

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Irish Creme Killer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
