Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Strawberry Cream Cupcake & Murder (A Dana Sweet Cozy Mystery #1) by Ann S. Marie

51FjHEhxuBL

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars

Dana Sweet is making a fresh start. After her ex-fiancé ran off with her money, dreams, and best friend, she heads back to Berry Cove in Ontario. Inheriting her grandmothers struggling cupcake café, she makes a few changes in an attempt to make it profitable but still keep it small town friendly. Things don’t go as smoothly as she hopes however. The town food critic, who wrote a scathing review about the shop, is found dead and all signs are pointing to Dana as the murderer.

Well, what can I say? This book was…..meh. Other reviews have mentioned how horribly edited it is and normally I don’t touch that. I prefer to focus on the plot instead. Unfortunately it really affected the story so it’s definitely worth mentioning. It’s too bad too. The setting was darling and the characters were fairly well developed for a short story. I wish I could say that was all that was wrong with it, but I can’t. One of the problems for me was actually Grandma Rae. Poor woman is dead and I found her to be one of the most annoying character in the book! It’s a sweet and neat idea that Dana has her grandmothers saying printed on cupcake liners….but I got tired of hearing them. A page couldn’t be turned without her referring to at least a few of them. I also got tired of hearing all the different things Dana’s heart did. It skipped. It thumped. It exploded. It dropped. The only thing it didn’t do was stop! I’m surprised with all the activity it had going on. But the best part of the book for me had to be when she said, “I’m observant, Evan. That’s one of my weak spots as well as my strengths. Sometimes I wish I wasn’t so much so……” This comes right after she accuses the wrong person of murder and is now accusing someone else. I don’t even know what to say to that……

This book had so much potential. If the author had just hired an editor and didn’t spend so much time with overly tedious descriptions that weren’t necessary, I would have rated it much higher. It is a sweet and quick read, but with all the grammatical errors, I just don’t know if I’d be willing to recommend it to anyone.

Total pages: 116, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Strawberry Cream Cupcake & Murder

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Strawberry Cream Cupcake & Murder

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
