Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

The Cat Who Went Bump in the Night (Eli Carter & The Ghost Hackers #1) by Angela Pepper

41swppS9oQL__SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 4 1/2 out of 5 stars

Eli Carter is a delivery driver who leads a very boring life. That is until his boss, who is also his girlfriend, changes his route which causes him to meet Kahn Hart, a self proclaimed necromancer who works for Ghost Hackers. Eli doesn’t believe in ghosts. But he will…..

This book was so weird…..and I loved it!! Strange and quirky, I read it in one sitting. Eli was such a great character and he constantly had me cracking up. I think I enjoyed everything about him. His odd relationship with Brenda, his inner dialogue, his bromance with Kahn, his mind chip…all of it! The story was well written and completely offbeat. The characters were fairly well developed considering it’s a short. I really liked Kahn, Valerie, and the ghost cat. Not sure how I feel about Brenda. I honestly couldn’t put this down. I’m not exactly sure how you would categorize it. I got it for free on my Kindle app and it was listed as a cozy mystery, but it isn’t. I’d say it’s more fantasy/sci-fi, maybe paranormal mystery. Regardless of where it fits, if you are looking for a unique and fun story, check this one out! I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

Total pages: 120, Kindle edition (this includes the first couple chapters of the second book)

Available on Amazon at the link below:

The Cat Who Went Bump in the Night

Not available via Barnes and Noble.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , , , .
