Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Mother’s Little Helper (A Margie Peterson Mystery #3) by Karen MacInerney

51av1agQaPL

I rated this book 3 1/2 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Margie Peterson is a private investigator and newly single mom. When she is hired by the president of the PTA at her daughter’s school to find out who is embezzling funds, she gets more than she bargained for. A killer is on the loose and Margie must figure it out before the wrong person gets convicted of murder.

First off, I have not read any previous books in this series but am glad to say it can be read as a standalone. That’s always something I like to know when not starting with book one.

Ok. Now for my review. This is a well written cozy that has a lot of quirky characters and runs a bit on the zany side. From the soon to be ex-husband who is living with his Madonna impersonating boyfriend to the sausage smuggling streaker, I have to say there is never a dull moment in this book. It wasn’t hard to figure out who the killer was, but it really wasn’t a big deal since so much was going on. The murder almost took kind of a backseat to the story in my opinion. Not a bad thing in this case. The murder was actually the most uninteresting part to be honest. Luckily you are reminded periodically that someone was killed. Otherwise I think I’d forget. That might come off sounding like a negative, but it really isn’t. It’s a fun book and I definitely liked it…..I just can’t say I loved it either. Part of that could be the push from Margie’s mom and friend about dating now that she’s getting divorced. And push they did. Even going so far as to set up a dating profile without checking with her first. I know it’s ridiculous, but stuff like that bothers me. It did set up some humorous and interesting dating experiences for her….but I could have done without the overstepping of boundaries. Aside from that, I don’t really have anything bad to say about it. It does run more on the quirky side than the cozy side. At least that’s how it felt to me. I’d recommend it to anyone who really likes a little murder mystery with their wacky tales.

Total pages: 288, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Mother’s Little Helper

Available on Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Mother’s Little Helper

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , .
