Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Anne Bronte: Nightwalker (Bronte Blood Chronicles #1) by Gea Haff

51Qx+rjKI8L__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Anne Bronte is no more. A nightwalker, she now goes by the name of Anne Bell, a paramedic that will only work the night shift. Claiming a skin condition as the reason for her aversion to the sun, Deputy Santos believes there is more to her than meets the eye as does the new ER doctor. But it’s Professor Hardcastle who seems the closest to discovering her secret. With an Alpha on the loose killing young women, Anne must decide if she will once again leave, claiming a new identity elsewhere, or will she fight for the town she feels has become her own?

If I was going just by the writing style alone, this book would score a solid 4 stars out of me. The story however only gets 2 1/2 which is why my rating is a 3. I might even be willing to tip it to a 3 1/2…..but I honestly found it to be a pretty standard vampire read for the most part. You have the brooding, lonely, female who hates what she has become, the threat to those she’s grown the care about, a love interest, and a sudden turning point that causes our protagonist to embrace and accept who she is. The only difference is our vampire is none other than Anne Bronte. For me, that’s the only thing that made this story stand out even though I have never been all that fascinated by the Brontes myself. It is obvious that the author is though and she definitely did her homework. Along with her impressive research, there is obvious writing skills. The book is very well written and the characters are wonderfully crafted. The dialogue is fantastic and you can feel the author’s passion. So I guess it’s me then. Maybe I’m just over the whole vampire fiction thing, but I just couldn’t get into it. As stated prior, the writing is exceptional and I wanted so much to fall into its pages, but it just never took hold. Perhaps you need to be a Bronte fan to truly appreciate this novel but for me this was just ok. The author has some real talent and I wish her success, but I doubt I will read any further in this series.

Total pages: 312, Paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Anne Bronte: Nightwalker

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Anne Bronte: Nightwalker

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , , .
