Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Living the Dream by Lauren Berry

41yUsG848YL

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Emma and Clementine are two twenty-somethings living in modern day London. Both are writers and waiting for their big break that doesn’t seem to be coming as quickly as they’d like.

I rated this 3 stars because the writing is really good and this debut novel had a lot of potential to be a fun chick-lit read. I didn’t rate it any higher because I honestly don’t know what to make of it. First off, there’s no story. Like, none. The plot was pretty much non-existent. I kept waiting for something to happen to give this story a point but it never came. Second, the characters of Emma and Clementine are nearly identical. Well developed, but pretty much the same person. As a matter of fact, I had to flip to the front of the book to remind myself who was who. Now I don’t want that to sound like I hated it, because I didn’t. The problem is I really don’t know how to feel about it. It’s not wildly hilarious like it claimed, although there were a few funny moments, and the coffee cup on the front cover still baffles me since I don’t recall either character drinking coffee, but it’s not a bad book. It’s not a great book either. It just……..IS. And that’s what I can’t get over. There’s just nothing to really say about it plot wise.

I did like the writing style though and the author does have some skills, so the fact that I didn’t love this book wouldn’t deter me from checking out future books by Miss Berry. Hopefully there will be some improvement on the storytelling front.

Total pages: 304, Paperback

Available for pre-order on Amazon at the link below:

Living the Dream

Available for pre-order at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2017 by in Books I've read and tagged , , , .
