Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

Esther the Wonder Pig; Changing the World One Heart at a Time by Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter

51y9rTcPeoL__SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

The mini pig that wasn’t. This is the true story of Steve Jenkins and his partner Derek Walter and how they acquired, and had their life changed, by Esther, a 650 lb. commercial pig.

I don’t hand out 5 stars very often, but this book was just too entertaining for me to give it less than that. If you don’t know who Esther is, do yourself a favor and look her up. I’ve been following her for quite some time now so when I saw this book listed in a giveaway, I didn’t hesitate to enter. Luckily I won. There are some people I noticed that state they feel this book is very vegan preachy. I honestly didn’t get that. I am not a vegan nor do I have any intention of becoming one and I didn’t feel a push from the book to do that. Did they mention it? Of course they did. Did they discuss why they chose that path? Naturally. Did it fill pages upon pages and come off as militant? Not even close. What I read was a book about how life can take a completely different turn than you expected. It was about acquiring a dream you didn’t even know you had. It was about family and unconditional love. It was about two guys and a pig. A very large pig. I laughed, I cried, I cringed, and I applauded. It was well writing and brimming with emotion and humor. It was one of the better memoirs I have ever read. Definitely a must read for all animals lovers.

Total pages: 240, Paperback

Available on Amazon at the link below:

Esther the Wonder Pig

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

Esther the Wonder Pig

Leave a Reply

