Once Upon A Book – Charlee Rae's Book Reviews

"Books Fall Open, You Fall In"

The House of Memory (Pluto’s Snitch #2) by Carolyn Haines

51ePxKydfSL__SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars

I won this book as part of a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Raissa James is a private investigator with a special talent. She can see the dead. Along with her partner, Reginald Proctor, they travel to Alabama to investigate a woman who has been locked up at Bryce Hospital by her uncaring mother. Camille has suddenly started attacking her fiancé and love of her life for no apparent reason. Some say she’s mentally unstable. Some say she’s haunted. It’s up to Raissa and her partner to find out which it is.

I didn’t read the first book in this series and although it can be read as a standalone, I would suggest starting at the beginning as I did feel a little lost when it came to Raissa. I didn’t get a firm understanding of how she became a private investigator, her gift, or her relationship with Reginald. I admit I almost put this in my abandoned pile as there were several times where the story just seemed to drag and I started to lose interest. As quickly as that happened though, something would come along and get me invested again. It was a constant theme for me throughout the entire story. The characters were interesting and it was well written, but there was too much repeating of information. I got to the point where I would skim over pages because they’d be discussing things they already mentioned without adding anything new.

I liked Raissa as a protagonist but wish her gift was explained a bit more. Other than her seeing and communicating with the deceased, I really didn’t know much else. She seemed as if she didn’t quite embrace it but there was no explanation as to why. Reginald is also a good character, if a bit much on the smooth side. I’ve known people who are really slick, but Reginald must be soaked in oil. The chemistry between the two (non-romantic) worked really well, but I’m not sure it sold me on reading the next installment.

Total pages: 318, Kindle edition

Available on Amazon at the link below:

The House of Memory

Available at Barnes and Noble at the link below:

The House of Memory

Leave a Reply

